Panel on pressing issues in children’s rights

Check out our recording of the Nov. 3 webinar on children’s rights. Panelists discussed comprehensive sexuality education, child poverty and lowering the voting age. Panelist bios: Insiya Mankani is the Public Affairs Officer at Action Canada for Sexual Health and Rights where she helps to advance the domestic sexual and reproductive health policy landscape by …

Commission Vérité et Réconciliation - Appel à l'action n°3 - Fiche d'information

Appel à l'action #3 : Nous demandons à tous les niveaux de gouvernement de mettre pleinement en œuvre le principe de Jordan Le principe de Jordan est une règle juridique nommée en l'honneur de Jordan River Anderson, de la nation crie de Norway House au Manitoba. Jordan est né avec des besoins médicaux complexes et après avoir passé ses deux premières années à l'hôpital, il a été autorisé à ...

Lettre aux signataires de la déclaration commune sur les châtiments corporels infligés aux enfants et aux jeunes

Lettre que la CCRC a envoyée le 19 novembre aux 658 organisations et personnes qui ont signé la Déclaration conjointe sur les châtiments corporels infligés aux enfants et aux jeunes. Le 20 novembre est la Journée nationale de l'enfant - cette journée a pour but de nous rappeler l'importance des droits des enfants dans la société.

Conférence distinguée du doyen : Avec le Dr. Cindy Blackstock

Regardez cette conférence le 15 novembre à 17h30 PST. Réconcilier l'histoire Le colonialisme a fait de l'inégalité une réalité vécue par de nombreux peuples autochtones dans le monde. Cette présentation traite de ce qu'est le colonialisme, de la façon dont il a engendré une inégalité multigénérationnelle et de ce qui peut être fait, y compris sur le plan académique, pour parvenir à la justice dans des environnements résistants au changement. Description de l'événement La faculté ...

Nouveau bureau de défense des intérêts des enfants et des jeunes dans le système de protection de l'enfance en Ontario : Youth Empowering Youth

Youth Empowering Youth (YEY) a été fondé sur la volonté de fournir un accès à la justice aux enfants, aux jeunes, aux familles et aux sympathisants qui sont touchés par les services de protection de l'enfance. Il offre des services gratuits et payants. La pandémie a été particulièrement dure pour les jeunes "en garde" et ils ont besoin de savoir que la loi est de leur côté. ...

Commentaire de la CCRC sur le droit à l'éducation

L'éducation n'est pas une solution unique. Elle ne l'était pas avant la pandémie et ne le sera pas après la pandémie. Les enfants ont des besoins et des capacités divers qui varient en fonction de leur contexte individuel. Malheureusement, leurs capacités et besoins divers n'ont pas été pleinement pris en compte et leurs voix n'ont pas été entendues depuis le début de la pandémie. Consultez le ...

Truth and Reconciliation Commission Call to Action #3 Fact sheet

Call to Action #3: We call upon all levels of government to fully implement Jordan’s Principle Jordan’s Principle is a legal rule named after Jordan River Anderson, of the Norway House Cree Nation in Manitoba. Jordan was born with complex medical needs and after spending his first two years in the hospital, he was cleared …

Letter to Endorsers of the Joint Statement on Physical Punishment of Children and Youth

Letter that the CCRC sent on Nov. 19 to the 658 organizations and individuals who signed the Joint Statement on Physical Punishment of Children and Youth. Dear Endorser of the Joint Statement, November 20 is National Child Day – this day is meant to remind us of the importance of the rights of children in …

Dean’s Distinguished Lecture: Featuring Dr. Cindy Blackstock

Check out this lecture on November 15th at 5:30pm PST. Reconciling History Colonialism entrenched inequality as a lived reality for many Indigenous peoples around the world. This presentation talks about what colonialism is, how it birthed multi-generational inequality and what can be done, including academically, to achieve justice in change-resistant environments. Event Description The Faculty …

New advocacy office for children and youth in the child welfare system in Ontario: Youth Empowering Youth

Youth Empowering Youth (YEY) was founded on a desire to provide access to justice to children, youth, families and supporters who are impacted by Child Protective Services. They offer both free and paid services. The pandemic has been especially hard on youth “in-care” and they need to know that the law is on their side. …

CCRC Commentary on the Right to Education

Education is not a one-size fits all. It was not pre-pandemic and will not be post-pandemic. Children have diverse needs and abilities that vary based on their individual contexts. Unfortunately, their diverse abilities and needs have not been fully considered nor have their voices been heard since the beginning of the pandemic. Check out the …

Ending Violence Against Children

Ending Violence Against Children in Canada On December 15 the global network to End Violence Against Children (EVAC) launched a major campaign for the coming year.  It is a next step toward the ambitious goal of ending all forms of violence against children by 2030, one of the Sustainable Development Goals. 2021 will feature global campaigns, …