General Comment 26 – chance for children to participate

Here are some activities to ensure children can provide input in the development of the General Comment 26 of the Committee on the Rights of the Child on the environment. After intensive consultations, the committee as just released the report on the children’s questionnaire: Reports | General Comment No. 26 on Children’s Rights and the Environment (childrightsenvironment.org) – covering the lived …

Changement climatique et droits de l'enfant : table ronde lors de l'AG de la CCRC

Le panel de l'AGA de cette année s'est concentré sur la manière dont la vie des enfants est façonnée par le changement climatique, même s'ils sont les moins responsables, ils sont les plus touchés. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les enfants qui sont structurellement vulnérables, comme les enfants indigènes, ceux qui vivent dans la pauvreté, les enfants racialisés et ceux qui ...

Rejoignez-nous pour l'AGA de la CCRC et le panel sur le changement climatique (4 novembre à 14h00 EST)

Joignez-vous à la CCRC pour notre assemblée générale annuelle le 4 novembre à 14 h HNE. Notez que l'assemblée est ouverte au grand public, pas seulement aux membres de la CCRC. La première heure sera consacrée à un panel sur le changement climatique et les droits de l'enfant. Ensuite, nous tiendrons une AGA de 30 minutes au cours de laquelle nous nommerons les nouveaux directeurs du conseil d'administration, ...

Élection fédérale 2021 : Changement climatique et droits de l'enfant

Le changement climatique est une menace sérieuse pour le droit des enfants à grandir dans un environnement sain. Consultez notre affiche qui encourage les électeurs à penser au changement climatique et à la façon dont il affecte les enfants lorsqu'ils se rendront aux urnes le 20 septembre.

Blog post : La consultation Phoenix - réflexion sur les droits de l'enfant et l'environnement

Notre stagiaire d'été du Humber College, Sarah, réfléchit à la Consultation de Phoenix, une conférence à laquelle elle a participé au nom de la CCRC, où des jeunes de toute l'Amérique du Nord se sont réunis avec le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies et un groupe intergénérationnel de leaders pour discuter des questions liées aux droits des enfants et à l'environnement. Par Sarah Mountjoy ...

Arrêt de la Cour suprême sur le changement climatique

Nous sommes intervenus dans la décision de la Cour suprême sur le changement climatique. 3 réflexions : 1. La CCRC se félicite de la conclusion de la Cour selon laquelle le changement climatique est une question d'intérêt national et que le gouvernement fédéral a le mandat de s'y attaquer en vertu de son pouvoir d'agir pour protéger la paix, l'ordre et le bon gouvernement. La CCRC a fait valoir ...

Bonne année - Nous sommes impatients de travailler ensemble sur les droits de l'enfant.

Bonjour à tous, Bonne année. Alors que nous tournons la page de 2020, la CCRC se réjouit de continuer à travailler avec ses membres et ses partenaires pour que les droits de l'enfant fonctionnent mieux au Canada. Voici 3 sujets qui nous occuperont en 2021. Tout d'abord, nous voulons encore une fois attirer votre attention sur le ...

Climate change and children’s rights: panel discussion at the CCRC’s AGM

The focus of the panel at this year’s AGM was about the ways that children’s lives are shaped by climate change, even though they are the least responsible, they are the most affected. This is particularly true for children who are structurally vulnerable, such as Indigenous children, those living in poverty, racialized children, and those …

Join us for the CCRC AGM & Panel on Climate Change (Nov. 4 at 2pm EST)

Join the CCRC for our Annual General Meeting on November 4th at 2pm EST. Note that this is open to the general public, not just CCRC members. The first hour will be a panel on climate change and children’s rights. Then, we will have a 30 minute AGM where we will nominate new board directors, …

Blog post: The Phoenix consultation – reflection on child rights and the environment

Our summer intern from Humber College, Sarah, reflects upon the Phoenix Consultation, a conference she attended on behalf of the CCRC where young people from across North American came together, along with the UN Special Rapporteur, and an intergenerational group of leaders to discuss issues related to children’s rights and the environment. By Sarah Mountjoy …

Climate change ruling by the Supreme Court

We were an intervenor on the Supreme Court ruling on climate change. 3 thoughts: 1. CCRC welcomes the Court’s finding that climate change is a matter of national concern and that the federal government has a mandate to address it under its power to act to protect peace, order, and good government.  The CCRC argued …

Happy new year – looking forward to working together on children’s rights

Hello everyone, Happy new year. As we turn the page on 2020, the CCRC looks forward to continuing to work with our members and partners to make children’s rights work better in Canada. Here are 3 issues that will keep us busy in 2021. First, we want to once again draw your attention to the …

Children in the City: Challenges & Opportunities for Children’s Rights due to COVID-19

By: Stephanie Watt, Geneviève Grégoire-Labrecque, and Kate Butler Children are active participants in city life and deserve to be the focus of city planning, just as adults are. As rights holders, young people should be considered in public policy decisions about city activities, places and events. Unfortunately, that’s rarely been the case. For instance, for several …