Board of Directors

The coalition operates as a charitable organization under federal legislation. The board, elected at each AGM, includes representatives of child rights organizations, individual advocates, and academic specialists on child rights.  Current board members are:

  • Kathy Vandergrift, Consultant and Child Rights Advocate – Co-chair and President
  • Kate Butler, Child Protection Advisor, Save the Children Canada – Co-chair
  • Hala Mreiwed, Post-doctoral Student, Children’s Rights and Education, McGill University – Secretary
  • Emily Chan, Lawyer, Justice for Children and Youth – Treasurer
  • Robyn Aaron, Child Rights Specialist
  • Daniella Bendo, PhD Candidate in Children’s Rights, Carleton University
  • Terence Hamilton, Child Rights Policy Analyst, UNICEF Canada
  • Helesia Luke, Communications and Development Coordinator, First Call BC Child and Youth Advocacy Coalition
  • Laura Wright, Child Rights Consultant and PhD Candidate in Children’s Rights

The CCRC invites expressions of interest to join working committees and/or a board role in the future.  For more information please contact us.